Bill Rupert, Sheriff
Armstrong County Courthouse
500 E. Market Street, Suite 106
Kittanning, PA 16201
The Sheriff's Office provides security for the Courthouse, service of civil documents for the courts and the community, serves warrants, issues licenses for firearms and transports prisoners.
In order to apply for or renew a license you must complete the Pennsylvania Firearm License application and return it to the Sheriff's Office with $20.00 for the cost of the permit. Checks should be made payable to the Armstrong County Sheriff.
If you are mailing your application, please attach a copy of your Pennsylvania Driver's License. If coming to the office be sure to bring your driver's license with you. Make sure your Driver's License has your current physical address on it.
You will receive notice by mail when your application has been processed and you can pick up your permit. Your photo will be taken for your permit, so you are required to pick up your permit in person. Our office hours for permits are Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 8:00 AM until 4:00 PM.
If your application is denied, you will be notified by mail and refunded $15.00.
You must be 21 years of age and a resident of Armstrong County to apply for a license with our office. If you are not a resident, you must apply in the county that you currently reside in.
|Blank License to Carry Firearms Application|
|Application/Renewal for a License to Sell Firearms|
You must complete the application for a Pennsylvania License to Sell Firearms and return it to the Sheriff's Office with $57.00 for the cost of the license. Checks should be made payable to the Sheriff's Department. Please include a copy of your Federal Firearms License and Sales Tax License. Your license will be mailed once completed.
|Sheriff's sales are held every three months on mortgage foreclosure properties. Requirements for a Sheriff's sale in Armstrong County include:|
| • $1,000.00 advance costs
• Notice of Sheriff's sale of real estate
• Affidavit pursuant to Rule 3129.1 PA Rules of Civil Procedure (cover sheet)
• Affidavit of Service Pursuant to Rule 3129.2 (cover sheet)
• Act 91 Certification (cover sheet)
• Three copies of full legal property description for deed
• Three copies of short property description for advertising
• Property address
• Defendant's address if different from property address.
• All other items required by Rule 3129 PA Rules of Civil Procedure
|* All Certificates of Filing (Cover sheet) for Continued Sales must be filed in original form. No faxed copies will be accepted.|
|Schedule of Mortgage Foreclosure Sales|
|Click here for Schedule of Mortgage Foreclosure Sales.|
|Sheriff Sale Rules:|
|Twenty five percent (25%) of the sale price shall be paid at the time of the sale. If the property is sold for more than $1000, the balance must be paid within ten (10) days unless you are working with a financial institution. If the property is sold for less than $1000, the entire purchase price, together with all costs, shall be paid within 72 hrs of the time of the sale. If the purchaser defaults in the payment of the balance of purchase price or fails to make the deposit, the property will at the discretion of the plaintiff either be sold to second highest bidder or again be put for sale and the purchaser in default shall be liable for any deficiency occurring as a result of the resale. All funds paid shall be forfeited in the event of failure to close. In addition to the purchase price, the purchaser shall be required to pay the Sheriffs poundage of two (2%) percent and the realty transfer taxes computed in accordance with applicable law and regulations. Taxes for the current year which are payable will be paid and will be assumed by the purchaser unless otherwise announced at the Sheriff’s sale. A schedule of distribution will be filed by the Sheriff on the following Monday. Distribution will be made in accordance with the schedule unless exceptions are filed within ten (10) days thereafter. The PA rules of Civil Procedure shall apply in all other matters concerning the sales. DESCRIPTION OF THE PROPERTIES NOTES, The Sheriffs Office neither warrants the title to any property nor gives legal advice as to the status of the title.|
|Women's Handgun Safety Class|
|The women's handgun safety classes are held several times a year at local Armstrong County Sportsman's Clubs. The class includes instruction and practice. Space is limited to 50 and participants must be at least 18 years of age. These classes teach the beginner gun handling and gun safety. Please call our office for upcoming class dates 724-548-3265, or check us out on Facebook at Armstrong County Sheriff’s Department.|
•Pennsylvania Sheriff's Offices